top of page

Blog 5.


This week in ISM I went on my second informational interview. I learned the JCPenney Headquarters is only about ten minutes away from Frisco High School, as this is where the interview took place. I met with Michael Kasberg, who is involved in social media analytics. The interview was bittersweet because Mr. Kasberg was incredibly helpful and resourceful, however I don’t think analytics is the path I want to take. He provided me with a great deal of helpful information which included showing me the statistical research he had just analyzed earlier that day. He explained to me that since he is not too fond of numbers and math, he typically works with individuals who excel at data manipulation to tell a story about what those numbers most likely represent and how they are measuring success. In addition to this, one huge piece of advice he gave me was this: In my career, do the job I am supposed to do. Then, take about ten to twenty percent of my time and do the job I want to do that will still benefit the company. Overtime, people will gravitate towards that and the percentages of time will begin to change, allowing me to build my several of my own job responsibilities. Aside from my interview this week, I have been working to confirm others and prepare for the Business Symposium next week.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page